Thursday, August 17, 2006

If You Like to Read to Learn, Read These Books

Ranking right up there with “Freakonomics” and “The World is Flat” is the New York Times best selling author John Stossel’s (of 20/20) “Myths, Lies, and Downright Stupidity”. What a read! Also, you can still find copies of Myron Magnet’s “The Dream and the Nightmare – The Legacies of the 60’s” and the book “In Defense of Elitism” by William A. Henry. I’ve described all of these books in previous blogs as being superior reads and now that I have read John Stossel’s latest book, I rank him as another pretty much my type of an author and suggest him as a great read.

For those of you just picking me up on this site and delving into my archives, you will soon find out I’m not very politically correct and I do not tolerate fools gladly at times, even myself. (I learned how to use a computer in March of 2004 and started blogging intermittently in late August of 2004.)While I am approaching 30,000 views or hits; could be more if all the people who say they read me are actually doing so. You’ll note I’m not the typical blogger but write more “documentaries” that usually don’t attract a lot of comments because I think I appeal to a slightly different blogger audience with perhaps less opportunity for controversial dialogue.

I’m making this a short blog because I have a number of other blogs to get out and a limited time to do this as I am on the campaign trail to get myself reelected to serve a final term on the Peoria County Board. If you want a copy of my campaign platform you can reach me on my email site. If you want to visit myself or myself and others over coffee to discuss community issues that you feel need further addressing, that can be arranged. I could use more help going door to door.

My extensive filing system dates back to the early 90’s when I sold my business and I started paying more attention to what was going on in my community and the rest of our world. I suggest we will all be better off paying closer attention. A lot of people who would do you bodily harm ARE paying more attention than some of us. I believe our current administration and bureaucrats are also paying closer attention, just sometimes screwing up as the body politic is bound to do. That includes Republicans, Democrats, Independents, non-voters and Hollywood types.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Another great read that delves on the same topics is: "The Marketing Of Evil" by David Kupelian