Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Peoria County Board Updates

Peoria County Board Chairman William (Bill) Prather called me Monday to inform me that for health reasons, he will not run for reelection at our Full Board Meeting Monday December 1, at 6:00. I had previously announced I would not run for a third term as Vice-Chairman. These two Chairmanship office positions will be determined next Monday evening. I understand Bob Baietto, a Republican and Tom O'Neill, a Democrat are interested in the Chairman's position. While the VC is often considered merely a title, I did conduct four full board county meetings and four Executive Meetings. The VC is automatically a member of the Executive Committee.

Mr. Prather continued all of our county board goals, the major one being a "Financially Solvent County Government". We estimate ending 2008 with a fund balance of $53 million plus and we estimate the ending fund balance in 2009 to be $69million plus.

When I was first elected to the board in 2000, we had a negative fund balance.

Why so much in our fund balance? These funds, all in balance this year, are sometimes known as "rainy day" funds. An amount is mandated by the state to be held in reserve. Our surplus is well over the mandated figure.

It is a general board opinion that Mr. Prather was a very good board chair and if health permitted, would have been reelected for another term. He will remain on the board for at least the next two years of his term.


Merle Widmer said...

Democrats dominate the Peoria County Board. Tom O'Neill was elected Board Chairman and Bill Prather was elected Vice Chairman.

With 12 Democrats and 6 Republicans on the 18 member board the Republicans decided to make the vote for both Democrats unanimous.

No Republicans or other Democrats were nominated because vote was locked in well before the meeting.

The Peoria Journal Star, short on reporters and cutting back coverage on mamy community events, did not attend this every two year important election.

Two years ago Chairman Bill Prather placed 5 Republicans as Chairman of committees.

Don't expect that to happen this year. I expect Tim Riggenback, Carol Trumpe nnd possibly Bob Baietto to retain their committee charmanships.

Merle Widmer said...

Riggenbach, sorry Tim, I mispelled your name, Trumpe and Baietto are all Republicans. I expect Democrat Phelan, replaces Thomas who retired, to be chair of Management Services replacing Mayer, Mayer, to head Tax and Economic Development, Salzer, and Pearson to retain their committee chairs and possibly Democrat Sous or Dillon to be Transportation chair. I'll get what I asked for. A minimum of management as I've had almost 45 years of being a manager.

And I've had two terms serving as Vice Chairman, an independent Republican serving with a Democrat majority.

All speculation, of course.

Merle Widmer said...

Mayer is chair of Tax and Development. Sorry.

Anonymous said...

I found this site using [url=][/url] And i want to thank you for your work. You have done really very good site. Great work, great site! Thank you!

Sorry for offtopic